BTEC Children's Play, Learning And Development

  • BTEC - Level 3 National Extended Certificate in CPLD
  • Pearsons
  • Entry requirements: GCSE Grade 5 in English, GCSE Grade 5 in Maths
  • Goes well with: Psychology, English, Biology

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Children’s Play, Learning and Development is generally taken alongside other qualifications as part of a two-year programme of learning. It will enable learners to progress to a wide range of degree programmes. The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by higher education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many relevant courses. It can be taken alongside, for example: • A Levels in Biology and Psychology, which could lead to a BSc (Hons) in Paediatric Nursing • A Levels in English and Psychology, which could lead to a BA (Hons) in Childhood Studies • A Levels in English and History, which could lead to a BA (Hons) in Primary Education. Learners should always check the entry requirements for degree programmes with specific higher education providers.

Mandatory Units - learners complete and achieve all units

Unit 1: Children’s Development.

This unit gives you the background and key theories that will govern your working practice. You will learn about theories and models of development that explain how and why children develop.You will develop an understanding of a range of factors that influence a child’s development. (Assessed by external exam in year 12)

Unit 2: Development of children’s Communication, Literacy and Numeracy Skills.

In this unit, you will learn the sequence of children’s speech, communication, language, literacy and numeracy skills development. You will plan stage appropriate activities that encourage children’s development and understanding by stimulating their enthusiasm, and using exciting and interesting ways to enable them to find out more.( Assessed by external exam in year 13)

Unit 3: Play and Learning.

In this unit, you will learn about the types of play and the opportunities that should be made available to children at different ages and stages of development. You will consider why play is so important and how it supports children’s learning and development.(Assessed by internally assessed tasks)

Unit 6: Children’s Physical Development, Care and Health needs.

In this unit, you will learn about the physical care needs of children and the important role of the early years professional to meet those needs through routines and by providing opportunity for challenging, physical play activities. You will consider how early years provision promotes children’s physical development and how this can impact on their holistic development. (Assessed by internally assessed tasks)

During year 12 you will be expected to complete 50 hours in an Early Years Placement.